Florida Boating Safety Education Requirements
As of 2010, all boaters in Florida who were born on or after January 1, 1988 must have in their possession a valid Boating Safety Education ID Card when operating any motorized vessel of 10hp or more.
Exemptions to Education Requirement
You do not require a Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card if:
- You hold a valid U.S. Coast Guard Marine Operator’s License
- You are operating on a private lake or pond
- You are a non-resident of Florida and have completed a NASBLA-Approved course in your state
- You are operating a vessel that has been purchased within 90 days or less (the bill of sale must be made available for inspection upon request)
- To rent and operate a vessel/pwc you must be 29 years or older with a valid driver’s license. Or at least 25 years and older with a valid driver’s license and a valid Florida Boating Safety license. Proof will be required.
- Children under the age of 12 must wear a properly fitted Personal Flotation Device (life jacket) when onboard any vessel/pwc.
The online boating safety course covers a wide range of operating laws in Florida. For a complete listing of Florida’s boat operating rules and regulations, please consult Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission website.